[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]aulogoAnna University is a state technical university in Tamil Nadu, India. The main campus is in Guindy, Chennai and the satellite campus is in Chromepet, Chennai. It was established on 4 September 1978. It is ranked the tenth institution in India overall by the National Institutional Ranking Framework,[2] ranked fourth among universities,[3] and ranked eighth in engineering.[4] The main campus houses the College of Engineering, Guindy; Alagappa College of Technology, School of Architecture and Planning, and three technical departments of the University of Madras. The Madras Institute of Technology is located in the Chromepet campus.

The Government of Tamil Nadu established the Anna University of Technology on 4 September 1978, through Tamil Nadu Act 30 of 1978. The new university was formed from the erstwhile University of Madras faculty of engineering and technology and consisted of four institutes: Madras Institute of Technology, College of Engineering, Guindy, Alagappa College of Technology and School of Architecture and Planning. In 1982, the current name “Anna University” was adopted.[5] 

Motto in English
Progress Through Knowledge
Type State University
Established 1978
Chancellor Governor of Tamil Nadu
Vice-Chancellor M. K. Surappa[1]
Chennai,Tamil Nadu,600025,India
Campus Urban, 185 acres
Affiliations UGC
Website www.annauniv.edu


Anna University

In 2001, under the Anna University Amendment Act of 2001, the university became an affiliating university, taking under its wings all the engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu. This included six government engineering colleges, three government-aided private institutions, and 426 self-financing colleges. On 1 February 2007, as a result of a Government of Tamil Nadu decision, the university was split into six universities constituent universities: Anna University, Chennai, Anna University of Technology, Chennai, Anna University of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, Anna University of Technology, Coimbatore, Anna University of Technology Tirunelveli and Anna University of Technology, Madurai.[6] The institutes were formally created in 2010. On 14 September 2011, a bill was passed to merge back the universities.[7] The merger became final in August 2012.[8]

In 2011 and 2012 the constituents were merged back to a single affiliating university and the four regional universities continue to function as regional campus of the university.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_basic_grid post_type=”post” max_items=”10″ element_width=”6″ item=”masonryGrid_Default” grid_id=”vc_gid:1610600336105-e3748c4ef914700010ed3df8c4ea5801-4″ taxonomies=”7607, 4579, 2852, 3787″ css=”.vc_custom_1610600372998{background-color: #ffffff !important;}”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)